The Less Worse Spouse

Me: I’m really enjoying our marriage lately, hun.

Him: Awwww. Me too.

*Long hug, then we each go back to our separate projects in the kitchen*

Me: I think it’s because you’re nicer now that I’m pregnant.

Him: No way.  You’re the nicer one now.

Me: Mm…I don’t think so. I’m the same, but now you attribute all my negativity as a symptom of pregnancy not a symptom of your wife being mean.

Him: What? No. You’re much more affectionate now and you say things nicer.

Me: Do not!

Him: DO SO!

Me: Nope.  Not at all.  You’re just less defensive. Which was always the problem to begin with.

Him: Whatever. You’re just less mean–and meanness was the problem

Me: Nope. I’m just as not-mean as ever. AND you’re more doting.

Him: Riiight. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

Me: Fine. You too.

Him: Fine

We were cracking up throughout the entire ludicrous argument. Maybe we’re both nicer. But don’t tell him I said that.

2 thoughts on “The Less Worse Spouse

Leave a Reply

