Dog

Have I become more of a crazy dog lady since the miscarriage? Weeeellll….

Yes.

Dogs are great temporary substitutes for children. I get to hear the pitter patter of little feet and get drool all over my face. My house is often filled with odd and odious smells. She gives me huge dog eyes and snuggles me. She makes me get up and move. She’s 60 lbs of cute and silly. By the time children are 60 lbs, they’re usually not this cute. And they have less feet. So…

Anyway, it’s a fact that dogs satisfy the human nurturing instinct. Domesticated dogs differ from their wolf ancestors by having floppier ears, milder eyes, rounder bodies, and just generally looking young and cute.  Humans LOVE young and cute. It’s programmed into us to love creatures with big eyes and helpless faces. Like babies, for example.

And when we think about it that way, I find it weird that I don’t instantly love random babies, but I love 95% of random dogs I meet. I think it has to do with the emotional baggage of babies. There is no baggage for dogs. The human-dog bond is the simplest bond I know. It’s easy. It’s perfect.

I am so happy I have my dog at this time. My only wish is that I could pick her up and snuggle her, but she’s just too heavy. I told my in-laws that if they ever wanted a dog, I’d be more than happy to train a puppy for them. This offer is actually open to all.

I need a small squishy mammal to hold.

2 thoughts on “Dog

  1. I think it’s amazing how our animals always seem to know when we need them and they’re extra sweet in those times.

Leave a Reply

