Speculation on the Soul

I’ve heard talk from various Mormon sources that women who miscarry will “get to raise those children in the next life.” I can see how some women might find this statement comforting. It promises that the opportunity you once had is not lost, just deferred. I get it. But I actually hope that this statement is not true, at least not in my case.

I hope that my life is long and (re)productive enough that by the time I die and move on to the afterlife I will be done raising kids. Further, I wouldn’t want any child of mine to be kept in a state of arrested development on my account. And all of this is assuming a lot because I don’t even know whether my 10 week old fetus had a soul.

I can’t place my finger on what I had. It certainly wasn’t alive in the sense that you and I are alive, but when it died, I didn’t feel the loss of dead cells. It was something more than that. On the other hand, 25% of pregnancies end in miscarriage. Wouldn’t it be somewhat useless to place souls into non-viable bodies with such a high mortality rate? And like I said, I have no idea. But here is what I feel/hope:

I  hope that the baby had a soul, or perhaps a soul assigned to it. I hope that the soul is free to move about between our mortal world and the immortal world. I hope that during pregnancy the soul can chill out and take a nap, or do tap dancing, or baby fight club in the mother’s womb in the morning. And then after lunch, skip up to heaven to check out a seminar on “How to be born to families with pet dogs.” I hope that when a woman miscarries, it’s more like a canceled flight at the airport. The souls belonging to children of miscarriage mommies would just catch the next pregnancy down to that particular family. I hope that the same soul I became so attached to will join us again soon.

2 thoughts on “Speculation on the Soul

  1. Thoughtful and thought provoking post. While there is no established Church doctrine on the subject, I have known of several LDS women who fully believe (and seem to have had spiritual confirmation of the same) that the soul of the baby they miscarried did indeed return in a subsequent pregnancy (one which was carried to full-term and live birth). Maybe it’s a case by case thing, who knows. The concept (as described by you in the last paragraph) makes perfect sense to me.

  2. I also love the idea you raise in the last paragraph, and agree that it makes perfect sense.

    As for the overarching question, I obviously don’t know the answer any more than you do, but I tend to think that maybe it’s a little bit of both. As in, sometimes the miscarried soul comes in a subsequent pregnancy, but sometimes they don’t. Because I also know of people like the ones Megan mentioned. But then what about the couples who aren’t able to carry a subsequent pregnancy to term after a miscarriage? I somehow don’t think that God would just leave them wanting.

    For whatever it’s worth, each of my pregnancies had a different . . . flavor, I guess, to it. The Little Guy does not feel to me like the other pregnancies I lost; it doesn’t feel to me like his birth was a “third time’s the charm” for his soul. But, as I said, I don’t know. I guess it’s just something we’ll have to wait and find out.

Leave a Reply

