Awkward Adoption Dream

I careen to the worst possible scenario all too easily. I really want a kid, yes, but I want the whole experience of being pregnant and squeezing the thing out, too. So while I’m not opposed to adoption, it’s not my first choice. But it’s one I continually think about, probably prematurely.

Last night I had a dream that I adopted a baby girl. She must have been several months old at that point because she was tall. And even though I didn’t carry and birth her, she didn’t seem like a total stranger.

But because all my dreams are at least partially crazy, when I hugged the birth father and thanked him for the baby, my arm was in an awkward position and I accidentally touched his manhood. Yup. Awkward moments even in my dreams. I thought I’d keep that tidbit in for the faithful reader. After all, dream stories can be so dull.

3 thoughts on “Awkward Adoption Dream

  1. I think the medical term for “manhood” is “love torch.” Also, last time I checked, thrusting his love torch into your womanly portal is called “making a sacrifice at the altar of Venus.” You’re too mature to be using these squeamish euphemisms….

  2. Wow. Wow. That is the most in depth awkward dream moment I’ve ever heard.
    I’m like you, I prematurely worry, then research and plan for whatever it is I’m worrying about. It’s a coping mechanism.

  3. I knew my husband when we were in high school, and he was convinced he would never get married and had told me he hoped to be able to adopt when he was older (6 years later he and I got married and eventually had our own little bean). My point? It’s never too early to have a back up plan… I guess. Or that my husband is kind of weird. Or both.

Leave a Reply

