Hypnosis = Success

I have so much to write about. The fact that my child continues to be huge. My tearful last midwife appointment. The out-of-nowhere and poorly timed job offer. Falling in love with my baby. His first little cold. Sleeping. Not sleeping. All the good stuff you can count on during these early weeks. 

But first I have to wax evangelical about hypnosis. Before birth, I sort of wrote it off as a technique that I didn’t think would be all that helpful for me because I’m so type A, so controlling, so unable to relax. I listened to the first couple tracks of hypnobabies, and decided it wasn’t for me. Fast forward to labor time and it was the only thing that really helped me get out of my type-A controlling headspace long enough to actually have contractions, and actually made them pretty manageable.

ISo anyhow, on the fifth consecutive night of barely any sleep, I decided to call a hypnotherapist. We chatted about my insomnia and how it’s tied to my anxiety and did a little troubleshooting prior to “going under” (which wasn’t at all like the movies or the entertainers at the fair). What followed was some lovely guided imagery and deep, deep relaxation. I remember her saying something about how my body knows how to get to sleep and that it is making any necessary adjustments to help me get back to sleep quickly after feeding my baby.

I have no idea how, or why, but it worked. I’m able to sleep. I had tried absolutely everything I could short of sleeping pills before that point. Since this appointment over two weeks ago, I wake up, feed Bear, climb back into bed, and I’m asleep with just a few deep breaths. I’m falling asleep faster now than I ever have in my entire life.

So anyhow, if you’re having issues of any sort, consider giving hypnosis a shot. I was hugely skeptical that it could work for me. I realize now that it worked not in spite of my controlling, type-A personality, but because of it. It is the only thing short of chemicals that has the power to make my constantly reeling mind shut the fuck up. 

2 thoughts on “Hypnosis = Success

  1. That’s fantastic. May have to look into it when the little man gets these molars in and starts sleeping well again.
    Thought of you yesterday, there was a Daria marathon on.

Leave a Reply

