Gushing and playing the part of the know it all

I’ve decided to throw conventions and good sentence structure to the wind and just update the blog via iPhone as most of the time I spend on the Internet is handheld while nursing.

Baby is huge still. He’s an absolute joy to be around. He’s smiling and giggly most of the time. When he has a bad day I think it’s just so I’m reminded how the parents of consistently cranky children must feel and attempt to have a little empathy. This is all so Braggy brag, I hope I don’t have to eat my words, because seriously– he’s a delight.

I’m a little freaked out about how big he is. My little 2 month old is in 6 month old clothing. It’s not right. He’s not fat, just tall and rock solid sturdy. After nursing in the wee hours I got sad that his newborn stage lasted all of 1 week and i didnt even appreciate it. and then spent the next hour or so looking at pictures in my phone. I miss that baby. But the older, sleeps long stretches, smiley baby is pretty great too. I wish I could experience time all at once to see him as a newborn and a teenager and a 6 year old all at once.

Anyway, my sister’s baby is due any day now so I hope to get some newborn snuggles in very soon. I hope she can stand me imparting wisdom with only 2 months and 3 weeks of parenting under my belt because I often think about her and what I wish I had known in the first few weeks.

I wish I had not taken the easy days for granted. I don’t know how it was like for other parents, but the first week of my baby’s life was easy. Everyone was telling me to enjoy it though things can get a little crazy. I was all like, sure thing. And I privately thought that I must have won the jackpot because my child is an angel. Well he still is, but there are absolutely hard days. So whatever bits of wonderful you get, try to soak those up.

I’d also say that you’re doing it right. Whatever it is that you may be worried about– you’re doing just fine. I mean, there’s not much you can do that you would actually do to mess your kid up. If he only sleeps in a swing–go for it. If he wants a pacifier at 2 days old and you’re worried it will create nipple confusion and he’ll never latch properly again–don’t be. If you aren’t comfortable bringing him to church during flu season, then for heavens sake, don’t.

I think it’s good and helpful to be informed generally on baby care and safety, but at the end of the day, everything you read and are told is just a suggestion. And maybe it will be helpful and relevant to you. Maybe it won’t. Maybe it will work in a couple weeks, but not right now. Trust your gut. No really. You do what you think is best, including seeking out advice when you’re not sure what you think is best.

I remember breastfeeding in the first week or two. Baby was growing and we seemed to be getting a good latch, but the stupid breastfeeding book I was reading said I should be holding the baby differently for the best latch. I really beat myself up trying to get the textbook latch. Seriously. It sounds stupid now, but I was determined to do it “right.” I should have let what was working just work and not worry about it do much. I think I was confused because the book had lots of other helpful info, so I thought clearly, if this book has been right about everything else, then what I am doing that deviates from the book must be wrong.

Anyway, I’m sure you’re all bored by now, but this has been my empowering pep talk of the day.

5 thoughts on “Gushing and playing the part of the know it all

  1. First, the first few months’ worth of experience probably count for triple or even quadruple because you’re awake so much more than you would have been in a normal month. So advise away!

    Second, YES on the latch paranoia (and everything else, really). If it works, it’s right. I spent sooooo much time trying to get the Little Guy into a proper football hold or whatever because it’s supposed to be so much easier for c-section recovery and blahdeblahdeblah and it just wasn’t working until (with the help of a proper lactation consultant) I figured out a non-standard way that did work for me and my baby.

    Which brings me to Third, which is to add that asking questions or requesting help does not make you a quitter or a bad mom. It makes you more informed and supported. Do it whenever you feel like you need to.

    Fourth, but most of all, I love reading your posts and updates. Hopefully we can make it up there before too many months to see you and your little-ish guy. (My guess is that he’s just using his size to make up the age gap between him and the other geeklings.)

  2. Amen to everything you said. I hated when people made me feel like I was doing something wrong. Everyone does what they think is best, and that’s exactly what it is, the best for them. So, run with it and don’t look back.

    I feel ya on the big baby thing, mine has always been big, and sometimes it’s sad, but other times, when I’ve held newborns that were so tiny I thought I was going to break them, I loved that my baby was big, so embrace it. If it makes you feel any better (or worse) Theo is right on track with how Preston was, 6 month clothes at 2 months. I’m pretty sure their stats were almost identical, too. He’s now in 12-18 month clothes and he’s only 10 months. And I love him for that because it’s fun feeling like I have a little boy, all the while I still have a baby!

    P.S. Happy late Birthday!

  3. Here here for big babies!! Vivian has been wearing clothes marked for twice her age since her early days.

    This was a great post, one that could help a lot of new moms. You should share it.

Leave a Reply

